Skip to content

7 Areas of Catholic Social Teaching

Dear Parishioners of Saint Patrick,

From time to time, we’re invited to take inventory of our consistent approach toward Catholic Social Teaching.  Specifically, the United States Catholic Conference of Bishops identifies seven specific areas of CST.  They are:

  1.   Life and Dignity of the Human Person
  2.   Call to Family, Community and Participation
  3.   Rights and Responsibilities
  4.   Option for the Poor & Vulnerable
  5.   The Dignity of Work & Rights of Workers
  6.   Solidarity
  7.   Care for God’s Creation

As Catholics we don’t choose our favorite ones and omit the others.  No! We are called to embrace all seven areas in a consistent manner.  And while there may be a hierarchy, or fundamental prioritization among these, all areas are critical to identifying two primary goals: promoting the dignity of the human person and promoting the common good.  These are never separate goals. 

What areas do I find myself strongly identifying with?  What areas do I struggle with?  Where am I being called to further my understanding? 

You’re invited to check out the USCCB’s Seven Themes of Catholic Social Teaching to use for personal reflection.

Sincerely yours in the Gospel of Life,

Fr. Gurnick